Slouchy Hat – Take 2

Standard

Well, the first slouchy hat I tried was only a half success. And not very slouchy. I started to make another one (which was carted around in a half-made state in my purse for several weeks) and I finally finished it tonight!

After organizing my yarn into a drawer-

Drawer o' Yarn!

Oh yeaaaah.

I decided I needed to use that teal ball of yarn that I have had for about 3 years and never used for anything. I got it in Port Townsend while at Fort Worden for LeaderCorps in 2007 (can you tell I have a hard time finishing projects in a timely manner?), where one of my comrades attempted to show me how to crochet. Clearly, it didn’t stick that time (or the time after that). But I can proudly say I finally used it and I dig the finished product! I did not design this hat- it is someone else’s original creation. The pattern for this hat can be found here: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/brookes-slouchy-hat

Hat 2

About halfway(?) there

Hat2

Tada...

Hat2

Excited!

My plan is to give this to my little sister for Christmas (she doesn’t use the interwebz too much so hopefully this doesn’t totally ruin the surprise…). We both have blue eyes so I think it will look great on her 🙂 Plus I think her head is a little bit smaller than mine. I may have gotten a smidge overzealous on the last two rows of single crochet stitches and it got pretty snug. Christmas gift #1 complete!

I managed to knock out a whole crapload of work for school this week, so I have dubbed this weekend a no homework zone. Here’s to a craft (and cleaning…wah waaaah) filled weekend.

About Pandercraft

I love to create things. I don't really have one craft specialty, I experiment in any craft that seems interesting to me at the time. I also dabble in photography, which I love. There's always something new to learn and that's what I'm all about!

Leave a Reply

