Collage Jewelry

Standard

Today I went to a meetup of the Chicago Revel Craft League.  It came with tasty brunch and all the supplies! I forced myself to go despite being partly hungover from our surprisingly rowdy house warming party.

I made two pieces of jewelry, one of which can’t be shared yet because it’s a Christmas gift. I took some pictures of the one I made for myself though.

Side #1

Sadly, since it was a pretty crowded event I didn’t take any pictures while I was putting this together. These are made of 2 pieces of “memory glass” which basically looked like microscope slides to me. There were two sizes of square ones, and this rectangular shape.  You make a small collage out of the pieces you want, and the cool part is, you can make two unique sides so it’s reversible! For this side, I used part of a peacock feather (sword style), some scrapbook paper for the background, and I typed my last name in a font that I liked. It was too bright white for the look I had in mind, so I dipped the printed name in some coffee for a more antiqued look. Then, I used just a little bit of glue stick to hold the pieces in place while I worked on the other side.

Side #2

More scrapbook paper for the background, a little red stamp I cut out from somewhere, my initial, and a butterfly sticker someone else brought to the party. I actually think I ended up liking this side better, especially after Chris told me the first side looks “very festive” (meaning it looks like a Christmas tree. Which is NOT what I was going for!). To finish this project, you use metal tape- it was pretty hard to wrap around it the exact way I wanted, as you don’t get much of a lip to work with. It has an adhesive backing and as you can see, looks just like metal. Then you use whatever kind of hook you want to (sorry, I’m not a jewelry maker so I’m not sure the right terminology for that) thread your chain/necklace part through. I used a crimper but if you crimp it too hard, it cracks the glass, so I also put some gorilla glue to keep it secure. I need to clean it up a little bit where the glue puffed up. I used some of the chain our hostess provided and shortened it with some jewelry pliers, and added a lobster claw for closure.

Moderate length on the chain.

I’ll have to try it on with something that actually coordinates with it instead of my Saints shirt before I decide if I like it enough to wear. My gift piece definitely turned out a bit better since I made it first and wasn’t as tired and ready to get home.

Leave a Reply

