Adventures in Baking: Sauerkraut Cake

Standard

So I’ve been on a cooking streak with Weight Watchers recipes. I saw this cake, and really wanted to try it (http://www.weightwatchers.pl/food/rcp/RecipePage.aspx?recipeid=140351)

How I made it:

2 cups flour

1 cup Splenda

1/3 cup sugar

1 and 1/2 tsp baking soda

2/3 cups unsweetened cocoa

1/2 cup of margarine (melted)

1 and 1/2 cups o fhot water (though I did think about using coffee, my husband isn’t a huge fan of it so I opted for the good ol’ H20)

1tsp vanilla extract

1 cup of pureed sauerkraut

Cooking supplies!

I wasn’t too sure about the sauerkraut, but why not? Now that we have a sweet new food processor I figured I could give this a go!

In a large mixing bowl (the red thing here), I combined the flour, sugar, baking soda and 2/3 cup of cocoa, vanilla extract. Then I melted the margarine, and added it, the  hot water and vanilla extract and mixed it all together with a whisk. I sprayed my springform pan with cooking spray so it wouldn’t stick.

Awesome food processor, aptly named the NINJA.

Lastly, you’ll want to puree your canned sauerkraut.  Then add it in–

Add your sauerkraut to the chocolatey mix.

Before baking... in my new springform pan that I love. Even though it wasn't totally necessary for this, it's the only round dish I own.

After! I like the slightly crusty chocolate outside.

Originally I cut this into 10 slices, but it’s so dense and filling I ended up cutting many of those slices in half, too.

At first I wasn’t too sure how I felt about it- I’m used to box cakes which are super sweet. This isn’t the same sort of sweetness, but it is super satisfying and healthier. I think it would be great with some warmed strawberries or even some real frosting to give it a bit more moisture. I also thought it tasted better after being in a tupperware over night. And it smells amazing!

Leave a Reply

