Pumpkins!

Standard

This is sort of a craft? I just wanted to share our pumpkin creations cause I’m actually really happy with mine this year!
We each carved a pumpkin of our own. I highly recommend laying down newspaper to cover your table because it makes it a lot easier to clean up the mess afterwards. I went with Oogie Boogie from Nightmare Before Christmas- my sister’s friend carved Jack Skellington (which she is holding), and the hubs did an autobot. I’m not sure why these pictures didn’t come out very clear…I should have used my good camera.

2012 pumpkins

Pumpkin family!

My sister did an owl pumpkin of her own- but I had to help her salvage it because she cut the pattern wrong and the whole owl came out. Luckily, we had some wood skewers from grilling that I used to put the owl back in it’s place. I carved extra space around the cutout so that light would show the silhouette.

I did do something different with an extra one I picked out- I painted it:

Paint

Regular old acrylic paint.

Spooky

Ooooh.

I didn’t do a perfect paint job- the bottom has some spots I missed, but I figure…who cares? It was kinda fun to paint one so I didn’t have to get the guts out of another pumpkin. Also it looks cool during the day, and the rest can be lit up at night. I hope we get some trick or treaters!

Pumpkins

The pumpkin the right back is an owl, it’s a little blurry.

I’m sorry about the crappy pictures. I didn’t have the time or energy to spend more than 2 minutes taking them- and when I tried to re-take some today (see last photo) they didn’t look nearly as great since they’ve been out there a few days. The erratic Chicago weather decided it was a good time to go back up to 75 degrees and make our pumpkins rot super fast. In fact, my husband’s got so moldy/slimy that it fell off the edge of our stairway backwards toward the door- and smooshed all over the place even though it’s only about a 2 foot drop. Womp womp.

One response »

Leave a Reply

