Magnetic Makeup Board with a Twist!

Standard

The magnetic makeup boards were a hit, but I got to thinking….

I really wanted to make a jewelry organizer for myself. How could I combine something for makeup AND jewelry?

Don’t worry, I still have plans to make a super cool jewelry holder for my office (coming up next!) but I figured that this would be a great combination for my sister, since she gets ready for work and stuff in her room.

I got some brass “cup hooks” at the hardware store ($4 for 100 of them):

Screw the hook into place.

Screw the hook into place.

You will likely need some pliers to get these to be flush with the wood but also pointing the direction you want.

My sister is obsessed with owls, so of course, I used owl fabric on hers.

IMG_0342

Double duty!

I realized you could even hang some sunglasses on here if you have a favorite pair you don’t want to lose over winter. It’s not totally a one piece solution because you’d still need somewhere to put earrings, but it’s getting there.

Of course, after I took this picture I decided I needed to add a place for mascara/brushes and whatever else might not be able to be stuck to the board.

A tomato paste can was exactly the size I was looking for. I washed it out and peeled the label off.

Tomato paste can, just the right size.

Tomato paste can, just the right size.

I thought about leaving it silver, but since the cup hooks I got were only available in brass, I felt like it clashed. Ribbon to the rescue!

Covered in thick orange ribbon.

Covered in thick orange ribbon.

I decided to add the twisty part at the last minute because I kind of hate layered ribbon that isn’t perfectly even. This doesn’t have to be even because it’s all artsy and intentional. Mhm.

Tada!

Tada!

The can is small so it's not going to hold every item, but for everyday stuff- your favorite mascara, lipstick, eyelash curler- it's just right.

The can is small so it’s not going to hold every item, but for your every day go-to stuff- your favorite mascara, lipstick, eyelash curler- it’s perfect.

With a little twist.

With a little twist.

I love how this turned out! My sister has already seen the owl fabric and stuff, but she doesn’t know about all the parts I added, so I think I’ll just put this under our tree for her 😉

3 responses »

  1. This is really cute! My husband doesn’t get it, but I think it’s easier to find your make up this way than to look through a makeup bag. I think I may ask him to make this for me 🙂

    • Tracy, you could even attempt making it!

      I agree. I put the makeup I use the most on my board, and I keep a makeup bag for when I am traveling (and a few broken makeups that I don’t want to part with but can’t be hung up).

Leave a Reply

