DIY Jewelry Organizer with Antique Drawer Pulls

Standard

Happy 2013!

Let me start by saying this is the first project in a long time that I have done that comes with a long list of things I did wrong and you should do differently. Sheesh. It probably took me over 2 weeks to get this thing done for real. However, I do love the way it turned out! (Thank the universe). Second disclaimer: this was not a very cheap project by the time I bought all the supplies. Drawer pulls are surprisingly expensive.

Things you will need:

Some wood- the size depends on what you want it to look like. I got some pine that is 3/4″ by 2 and 1/2″ which I had cut to 2 feet long.

Drawer pulls (you can buy these at the hardware store, or an antique store like I wound up doing)

Paint of your choosing, and a paintbrush

Measuring tape or ruler

A drill and drill bit for pre-drilling holes (I actually don’t own one of these and just used a sharp wood screw to drill all my holes. Improvise.)

Screwdriver with both phillips and flat heads

D-ring hangers/hooks (I bought 1″)

A hammer

Nails

Patience (whoops, I showed up to this project without this and it sucked)

An adult beverage (optional, helpful if you forgot the above item)

 

First you’ll want to paint the wood you bought/salvaged, or stain it if you prefer the natural look.

Paint!

Paint!

Once it’s painted, you should lay out the drawer pulls you would like to use and mess around with the order/design.

Lay out your design ahead of time, make sure everything fits nicely.

Lay out your design ahead of time, make sure everything fits nicely.

Also I just want to show off my favorite handle- the antique store owner informed me that it is art deco from the 1930s. Pretty cool eh?

Coolest drawer pull from my antique adventure

Coolest drawer pull from my antique adventure

Now this is important. Make sure that you MEASURE the distance between your screws on the pulls that have two screws instead of one.

Measuring is important. Sadly, I'm not very good at it because I get impatient.

Measuring is important. Sadly, I’m not very good at it because I get impatient.

I drilled in just a tiny bit where I had marked my measurements. Except I did this on the wrong side.

I drilled in just a tiny bit where I had marked my measurements. Except I did this on the wrong side.

Yeah, you should really do the measurements and drilling on the opposite side (ie, not your painted front). Live and learn. I marked the spots with my drill (first mistake), then flipped it over and prayed that they would wind up where my markers were.

Obviously I didn’t pray hard enough, because only one of the holes I drilled actually came out right on top of these markers. The second one was a disaster and kept being just a smidge off of where I needed it to be for it to come through the hole in the handle where it was supposed to. This is about when I opened a beer.

Drill baby drill!

Drill baby drill!

Single knob pulls are a lot easier to work with, so if you’re measuring impaired, consider just using knobs.

Also worthy of note- not all handles are exactly standard, especially if they are from the 1930s. I made no less than 3 trips to the hardware store for screws and still didn’t end up with the right size, somehow. Take your handles with you to the store. Or, if you bought your pulls new from the hardware store, they’ll come with screws.

D ring hook installed

D ring hook installed- see that screw on the far left? Yeah…that’s the one I drilled 3 different times before it came through in the right spot. Like I said, measuring (accurately!) is important.

D ring hooks just in case you are wondering what they might look like.

D ring hooks just in case you are wondering what they might look like.

You should also note that you’ll want to have some extra paint just in case you get pissed off at your drill dieing 3/4s of the way through your project and accidentally take a chunk off of your piece when the screw goes flying out from under you.

Just another error...

Just another error…

Nothing is more infuriating than the sound of a dieing drill. Feel free to open your second beer right around nowish.

Really like the way the D ring hooks keep this thing level and stable.

Really like the way the D ring hooks keep this thing level and stable.

The cup handle on the left end can be used for stud earrings or other small pieces of jewelry.

The cup handle on the left end can be used for stud earrings or other small pieces of jewelry.

At last, a place to hang my necklaces so that they aren't strewn about on top of my bookcase!

At last, a place to hang my necklaces so that they aren’t strewn about on top of my bookcase!

So lets review all the things I screwed up, so that you can avoid them:

-Take your drawer pulls to the hardware store to find the appropriate screws and don’t just “eyeball it” or you’re going to end up at Home Depot way too often

-Fully charge your drill before you start

-When measuring your drawer pull placement, you should do this on the back (unpainted) side, since you are going to be drilling from that side (this way if you suck at measuring, at least it won’t show on the front)

-It’s probably best if you don’t be cheap and just buy a drill bit to pre-drill your holes

-If in doubt, buy drawer knobs because they are way easier

Hope this helps!

I have enough supplies leftover to make 2 more of these things….but I think maybe I should do a nice, relaxing crochet project first.

Leave a Reply

