Spring Remix! Customized Dress Straps

Standard

Well, it’s ALMOST Spring, anyways. I’ve had this dress of my friend’s sitting on my craft room desk since October.

You know the kind of dress I’m talking about. Those cute little summer dresses with the tie-able straps that seem like a good idea in theory, but once you wear it for more than 3 minutes in a dressing room, you realize how poor a design feature it really is:

I used to have this exact dress. Then I wore it once and immediately donated it.

I used to have this exact dress. Then I wore it once and immediately donated it. And now some other poor sap is stuck with it. Oops.

She asked me to do something with the dress so that it wouldn’t look lumpy under a cardi or jacket. So, I cut the ties off. Snip, snip.

Then I took the pieces I had cut and braided them together.

Braid

Braided fabric looks cool but is actually easy.

You can see I sewed the 3 pieces to the end of the strap before I started to braid. With one end anchored, braid it, then sew the other end.

Then you can anchor your other end.

Then you can anchor your other end.

The fabric is so thin, when I tried to sew with the machine it did not end well- I ended up sewing by hand. I like the way it turned out.

Machine sewing probably would have looked a smidge smoother, but I did what I had to.

Machine sewing probably would have looked a smidge smoother, but I did what I had to.

 

 

She might want a cami underneath it. Hello, cleavage!

She might want a cami underneath it. Hello, cleavage!

Once I actually sat down for a few uninterrupted moments, this probably only took 15 minutes, if that. You could do something similar if you want to jazz up some normal dress straps- use different colored fabric to make it interesting. Just in time to get this back to her before the nice weather starts!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

