Refinished Thrift Store Table

Standard

I’m getting settled into my new office and decided I wanted a small seating area in front of my (awesome, beautiful, bright) window. A month and a half later, I’m still kind of in awe of the natural light in my office. And there’s some great wildflowers outside one of my windows. I just love it!

I found this real wood table at the Goodwill for $20, but it had some deep gouges on it. I liked the spirally detail on the center post.

Gouges galore

Gouges galore

Things you will need:

A thrift store treasure you want to refinish

Spray paint (with or without primer, depending on what you buy)

Sandpaper (1 coarse and 1 fine would be good)

Paper towels or rags

Newspaper to cover your workspace

A well-ventilated or outdoor area

Needs some love.

Needs some love.

Obviously it’s had a rough time recently. I figured with a little sanding and some spray paint, it would be good as new.

Sanded...

Sanding….sanding….by hand….

I probably should have had a finer grit sandpaper after I did the first round. But I wasn’t in the mood for a single item hardware store run, so I made do. After you’re done sanding, you want to make sure you wipe it down with a damp cloth or paper towels, to remove the grit, dust, and anything else before you start spraying.

Primer

Don’t forget to put some coverage on your patio if you’re a renter. Your management company probably won’t give your deposit back if you leave a multi-color patio behind.

I sprayed some primer on first – the metallic top color I bought said I didn’t need primer, but I did it anyways. Then I used the metallic coat last. I ended up doing two coats because my first one wasn’t as even as I would have liked.

Don't forget the underside!

Don’t forget the underside!

Refinished table

Make sure you give it plenty of time to dry outside.

I did attempt to take a photo of this IN my office space, but the backlighting from the window made it very hard to see anything.

There are still a couple gouges faintly visible (some of the deepest ones), but overall it turned out really nice and has been a great meeting space instead of talking across my desk at people like some kind of principal or something.

I hope that rhodie outside our apartment (on the left) blooms soon! That’s the Washington State flower, if you didn’t know 😉

Leave a Reply

