Mini Pantry Paint Job

Standard

I’ve mentioned The Buy Nothing Project before, and I continue to get cool stuff pretty regularly through my local group. In our new apartment, there’s a lot less cabinet space (which I happily traded for a fenced in yard!)  but after being here for a month and a half I was really losing patience with the remaining two boxes of food and kitchen utensils taking up space in the dining area.

I got a small cabinet through the group and decided to spray paint it a different color to bring some brightness into the kitchen (and because the blonde wood color really clashes with the dark wood cabinets and bright yellow countertops – yep, our new kitchen is straight out of 1972. Look, I told you, there’s a yard. I would do anything for an outdoor space, so here we are).

Original:

IMG_6148

Pardon the clutter and stray patches of dirt on my patio, we’re still unpacking and I’ve been doing a lot of yard work and planting (I’ve even got a raspberry plant going!)

When you’re spray painting anything, make sure you have a large drop cloth of some kind to cover the area you’re working in (I even put a trash bag over my raspberry plant so it wouldn’t get any stray mist on it). It’s also important to tape off any areas you don’t want to paint:

IMG_6149

Follow the directions on your spray paint for how long you should let it dry.

IMG_6151

Then you can take off the tape and paper when you’re satisfied.

IMG_6158

Pro tip: If you get any stray spray paint where you don’t want it, a little bit of nail polish remover can usually take it right off if it’s relatively fresh.

Stay tuned for another spray paint adventure soon – I have some janky patio chairs that we salvaged and are going to makeover before our June apartment warming BBQ! That’s my ambition, anyway.

About Pandercraft

I love to create things. I don't really have one craft specialty, I experiment in any craft that seems interesting to me at the time. I also dabble in photography, which I love. There's always something new to learn and that's what I'm all about!

Leave a Reply

